Update on the role of companion animals in the COVID-19 pandemic - Vet Education

Webinars for the whole veterinary team

Update on the role of companion animals in the COVID-19 pandemic

Speaker
Dr. R. Michael Lappin

Who is it for?
Veterinarians
Start Date
April 16, 2020

Summary

In these webinars, Dr. Lappin will review what is currently known (and not known) about SARS-CoV-2, the cause of COVID-19 in people.

Objectives:
  • To learn about the different coronaviruses that infect dogs and cats.
  • To understand what is known about SARS-CoV-2 infections in experimentally infected animals.
  • To update attendees on what is known about dogs and cats that are naturally infected with SARS-CoV-2.
  • To learn how to lessen risk that veterinary staff members will acquire SARS-CoV-2 infection.
  • To understand that there is currently no evidence that naturally exposed cats or dogs can infect a person with SARS-CoV-2 and induce COVID-19
Lecture 1

When is it?

Date: Thursday, 16 April 2020
Time: 10:00 EDT
Date: Friday, 17 April 2020
Time: 00:00 AEST [Sydney] | 2:00 NZST [Auckland]
All Countries are Invited to Join this Webinar! To check the time in your zone/country, please click here.
Note: This webinar is being recorded. If you are unable to attend the live lecture, a link to the recording will be shared with you a few days following the lecture.
Lecture 2

When is it?

Date: Thursday, 16 April 2020
Time: 19:00 EDT

Date: Friday, 17 April 2020
Time: 09:00 AEST [Sydney] | 11:00 NZST [Auckland]

All Countries are Invited to Join this Webinar! To check the time in your zone/country, please click here.
Note: This webinar is being recorded. If you are unable to attend the live lecture, a link to the recording will be shared with you a few days following the lecture.

Speaker

R. Michael Lappin

DVM, PhD, DACVIM

Dr. Lappin graduated from Oklahoma State University and then completed an internship, internal medicine residency, and PhD program in Parasitology at the University of Georgia. Dr. Lappin is the Kenneth W. Smith Professor in Small Animal Clinical Veterinary Medicine at Colorado State University, is the director of the “Center for Companion Animal Studies” and he helps direct the shelter medicine program. He is the chair of the WSAVA One Health Committee. His principal areas of interest are prevention of infectious diseases, the upper respiratory disease complex, infectious causes of fever, infectious causes of diarrhea, and zoonoses. His research group has published over 300 primary papers or book chapters concerning small animal infectious diseases. Awards include the Norden Distinguished Teaching Award, NAVC Small Animal Speaker of the Year, the European Society of Feline Medicine International Award for Outstanding Contribution to Feline Medicine, the Winn Feline Research Award, the ACVIM Robert W. Kirk Award for Professional Excellence, the WSAVA Scientific Achievement Award, and the AVMA Clinical Research Award.

Watch the Recording of this lecture and get your CE certificate here